Executive Committee

Warlukurlangu Artists Aboriginal Corporation is directed by an Executive Committee of men and women representing Yuendumu community’s ‘skin groups.’ Regular meetings are held at the art centre to discuss the business performance and to develop policy with the management. These meetings are open to all the artists.

Warlukurlangu Artists prides itself on being a successful collaborative enterprise where non-Indigenous and local people bring their own unique skills to work as a team. Executive Committee members are on site painting, attending to business, and interacting with staff and visitors every day.

Current Executive Committee 2018:

  • Otto Jungarrayi Sims, Chairman
  • Wendy Nungarrayi Sims
  • Thomas Jangala Rice
  • Marlette Napurrurla Ross
  • Peggy Nampijinpa Brown
  • Alma Nangala Robertson
  • Cherylyn Napangardi Granites
  • Michael Jangala Watson
  • Christopher Japangardi Poulson
  • Lawrence Jangala Watson
  • Elizabeth Katakarinja

Over the years the Warlukurlangu Committee has regularly participated in governance training. Several Warlukurlangu artists have also served on the Executive Committee of Desart, the Association of Central Australian Aboriginal Art and Craft Centres. Andrea Nungarrayi Martin served on the Desart committee for many years as did Tess Napaljarri Ross.